Abiodun Oyebanji sworn in as Ekiti governor

Abiodun Oyebanji of the All Progressives Congress, APC, has been sworn-in as the governor of Ekiti State.

Oyebanji took his oath of office at the state’s government house on Sunday at about 12:53 pm.

The former Secretary to the State Government, SSG, was sworn in by the State Chief Judge, Justice Oyewole Adeyeye.

Dignitaries present include the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu; Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu and his Plateau State counterpart, Simon Lalong.

Others include Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Godwin Obaseki (Edo), Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun) among others.

Oyebanji was declared winner of the Ekiti State governorship election after polling 187,057 votes.

He defeated his two closest challengers — Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) who polled 82,211 votes, and Bisi Kolawole of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who got 67,457 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *