2030 World Cup to be held across 6 countries in 3 continents

The 2030 World Cup will be hosted in six different countries on three continents.

The hosts in the unprecedented arrangement include Uruguay, Argentina, and Paraguay.

Others include Morocco, Spain, and Portugal.

The six host countries fall within Europe, Africa and Latin America.

According to the football governing body, FIFA, all the host countries will automatically qualify for the tournament.

Uruguay, Argentina, and Paraguay will host the opening games of the tournament.

The decision is set to be ratified at a FIFA congress next year.

Fifa president Gianni Infantino said: “In a divided world, Fifa and football are uniting

“The Fifa Council, representing the entire world of football, unanimously agreed to celebrate the centenary of the Fifa World Cup, whose first edition was played in Uruguay in 1930, in the most appropriate way.

“In 2030, we will have a unique global footprint, three continents – Africa, Europe and South America – six countries – Argentina, Morocco, Paraguay, Portugal, Spain and Uruguay – welcoming and uniting the world while celebrating together the beautiful game, the centenary and the Fifa World Cup.”

Montevideo in Uruguay, the city which hosted the first World Cup match in 1930, is poised to stage the opening game in 2030 with matches in Argentina and Paraguay to follow.

The rest of the 48-team tournament will then move to north Africa (Morocco) and Europe (Portugal and Spain).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *