World Cup: Argentina vs Iceland World Cup starting line-ups

Argentina will be facing Iceland at Spartak Stadium in Moscow at 01: 00 GMT kick-off.

World Cup- Argentina vs Iceland World Cup starting line-ups Lailasnews

Iceland will become the smallest nation to compete in a World Cup when they meet Argentina in Moscow today.

Iceland midfielder Gylfi Sigurdsson returned from a knee injury in a friendly against Ghana last week.

Argentina boss Jorge Sampaoli took the surprising decision to name his line-up a day before the match, handing starts to Lionel Messi and Sergio Aguero.

Starting line-ups for the World Cup Group D match between  Argentina v Iceland is listed below.


  • 23Caballero
  • 18Salvio
  • 17Otamendi
  • 16Rojo
  • 3Tagliafico
  • 13Meza
  • 5Biglia
  • 14Mascherano
  • 11Di María
  • 10Messi
  • 19Agüero


  • 1Guzmán
  • 2Mercado
  • 4Ansaldi
  • 6Fazio
  • 7Banega
  • 8Acuña
  • 9Higuaín
  • 12Armani
  • 15Pérez
  • 20Lo Celso
  • 21Dybala
  • 22Pavón


  • 1Halldórsson
  • 2Saevarsson
  • 14Árnason
  • 6R Sigurdsson
  • 18Magnússon
  • 7Berg Gudmundsson
  • 17Gunnarsson
  • 20Hallfredsson
  • 8Bjarnason
  • 10G Sigurdsson
  • 11Finnbogason


  • 3Fridjónsson
  • 4Gudmundsson
  • 5Ingason
  • 9Sigurdarson
  • 12Schram
  • 13Rúnarsson
  • 15Eyjólfsson
  • 16OI Skúlason
  • 19Gíslason
  • 21Traustason
  • 22Bödvarsson
  • 23AF Skúlason
RefereeSzymon Marciniak
This will be the first ever encounter between Argentina and Iceland. Argentina have lost just one of their last seven World Cup group games against European opposition (won four, drew two). That defeat came at the hands of England in 2002.
Argentina have kept a clean sheet in three of their last four World Cup clashes against European teams, although they’ve failed to net in the last two as well, including the 2014 final against Germany.
Argentina have qualified for their 17th World Cup – and 12th in a row. In fact, since 1978, only Germany (five) have reached the World Cup final on more occasions than Argentina (four).
Iceland have qualified for their first World Cup and their second major tournament after Euro 2016 where they reached the quarter-finals. Slovakia were the last World Cup debutants to make it to the knockout stages of the tournament (2010).

Croatia and Nigeria are the other two teams in Group D and meet on Saturday evening in Kaliningrad.


One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

World Cup- Mikel Obi leads Super Eagles players for team walk (Photos) Lailasnews

World Cup: Mikel Obi leads Super Eagles players for team walk (Photos)

21-year-old YouTuber shares his shocking emotional love story Lailasnews

21-year-old YouTuber shares his shocking emotional love story