NAPTIP publishes names of convicted rapists in Nigeria

The National Agency for the Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons (NAPTIP) has published the names and photos of convicted sex offenders, including rapists in Nigeria.

NAPTIP publishes names of convicted rapists in Nigeria

The names and photos were published via the agency’s Twitter handle on Sunday. From the names published, six offenders were convicted in 2019 while four others were convicted in 2020.

A further breakdown of the published names showed that the offenders are from Ekiti, Abuja, Kano, and Lagos states. Among those named is a former supervisor at Chrisland School, Adegboyega Adenekan, 47, who was jailed 60 years for defiling a two-year-old child.

Others are Olaoluwa David Ajibade, Vincent Akande, Abdulkareem Yahaya Danmallam, Yusuf Francis Kyemang, and Basiru Adeyanju, Friday Elijah, Shehu Abubakar, Asateru Gabriel, and Emeka Akile.

NAPTIP in the post assured Nigerians that it was committed to ending rape and sexual abuse.

“Here are the identities of convicted sex offenders as seen on the Nigeria Sex Offender Register. @naptipnigeria is determined to naming and shaming all sex offenders. More names will be published as the convictions keep coming in,” the agency tweeted.

Earlier, NAPTIP Director-General, Julie Okah-Donli, urged Nigerians to report cases of rape within their vicinity to the agency or the nearest police station.

Follow us on Facebook – @Lailasnews; Twitter – @LailaIjeoma for updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

See photos of Surulere overtaken by beautiful garbage after rain

Davido’s assistant Israel DMW called out over alleged sexual assault