12 new cases of Covid-19 confirmed in Nigeria – See states affected

As of the 1st April 2020, the total number of confirmed cases of the deadly Covid-19 in Nigeria goes up to 151 after 12 new cases were confirmed across the country.

This is according to a report by the National Center for Disease Control, NCDC.

12 new cases of Covid-19 confirmed in Nigeria – See states affected

See the total confirmed cases by by state:
Lagos- 82
FCT- 28
Osun- 14
Oyo- 8
Ogun- 4
Edo- 4
Kaduna- 3
Enugu- 2
Bauchi- 2
Ekiti- 2
Benue- 1

Meanwhile in southwestern Oyo State, governor Seyi Makinde who recently tested positive for COVID-19 has explained why he is in principle not for a total lockdown.

Speaking in an interview, Makinde said:

“If you ask people not to come out, you lock down the market places, there are people who what they sell today – the profit from today’s activities is what they will eat tomorrow.

“There are plenty people like that within our environment. So, are there alternatives available to us? Can we do selective lockdowns? I think, everything is on the table but it has to follow a logical pattern & it will need the input of experts. We are not just going to lockdown because everyone is locking down.

“I have been watching CNN and the most successful place right now in containing this is the Czech Republic. And one of the things they brought out is that they made a law that if you must leave your house, you must wear a mask. It may be that route for us to go.

“I have asked them to start evaluating that. If we must make that law and say everybody that must go out must wear a mask, then, how about those who cannot afford it. Can we make masks locally? Can we get our artisans and our tailors to commit to that with the govt supporting?” he said.

Follow us on Facebook – @Lailasnews; Twitter – @LailaIjeoma for updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Nigerian paralympic gold medalist, Ndidi Nwosu is dead

How we’ll identify and pay vulnerable Nigerians – Federal government